Beginner’s Vegetarian Smoothie

In a recent post, I wrote about my foray into vegetarianism. I am sure that every person’s story is a little different, but my goal was simply to continue to move my lifestyle toward what I consider a more happy and healthy one… both for my body and the planet… and to lead by example.

To that end, I wanted to share my recipe for my basic vegetable-fruit smoothie. I alter it every now and again, but this is my go-to for lunches and hot San Diego summer days. I call it a Beginner’s Vegetarian Smoothie because it does contain some fruit to give it just a hint of sweetness. This can be a great transition Smoothie to get you from all those over-sugared drinks you get at smoothie shops to, eventually, an all-raw-vegetable-based drink.

Try it out! Be creative! Let me know what you think in the comments below and follow my blog for more on healthy food culture locally and around the world.

Beginner’s Vegetarian Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice (or any fruit juice)
  • 1/4 cup coconut water
  • 1 Tbsp whey protein powder
  • a pinch of pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp flax seeds
  • 2 Campari tomatoes (they have the best flavor!)
  • 1/4 lemon pulp and juice, peeled, seeds removed
  • one large handful of fresh spinach (about 1 packed cup)
  • 1/4 cup frozen wild blueberries
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/3 of a whole organic cucumber, peeled
  • 1/4 of a whole organic avocado, peeled
  • 1/2 a stalk of organic celery
  • 1/2 of an heirloom carrot

Directions:

  1. Place each ingredient, in the order listed, into a high-speed blender (I recommend a Vitamix blender)
  2. Turn Vitamix on variable (low) and slowly turn speed up to 7 (medium-high speed)
  3. Note: If the ingredients at the top are not blending, stir or give the container a knock
  4. Continue blending at 7 (medium-high speed) for about 45 seconds or until well blended
  5. Pour and enjoy!

My apologies to all my readers outside of the United States for not providing metric conversion amounts. I know, we Americans always have to be difficult.

2 Replies to “Beginner’s Vegetarian Smoothie”

  1. Delicious! I could start every day with one of these. I love the idea of adding the avocado. One of my favorite additions to a smoothie is a roasted red beet – it turns everything into a cheerful bright pink color.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

